Local News

Illinois Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Former basketball coach Lou Henson headlines 21-member class

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS (WCIA) -- Some of the greatest names in sports history make up the 2018 list of the UI's Athletics Hall of Fame.

The 21 inductees include coaches and record-holders from a dozen different sports. The induction gala takes place, Friday, June 15, at the Field Museum of Natural History, in Chicago. 

2018 Hall of Fame Members

  • Alex Agase, Football/ Wrestling
  • Kevin Anderson, Men’s Tennis
  • Nancy Brookhart Cherin, Volleyball
  • Charles Carney, Football / Men’s Basketball
  • Dave Downey, Men’s Basketball
  • Ray Eliot, Football Coach / Hockey Coach
  • Darrin Fletcher, Baseball
  • Maxwell Garret, Fencing Coach
  • Kendall Gill, Men’s Basketball
  • Jim Grabowski, Football
  • Lou Henson, Men’s Basketball Coach
  • Dana Howard, Football
  • Tara Hurless, Women’s Soccer
  • John “Red” Kerr, Men’s Basketball
  • Scott Langley, Men’s Golf
  • Celena Mondie-Milner, Women’s Track & Field
  • Charles Pond, Men’s Gymnastics Coach
  • Joe Sapora, Wrestling
  • Justin Spring, Men’s Gymnastics
  • Tonya Williams, Women’s Track & Field
  • Willie Williams, Men’s Track & Field

More Stories

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center