Illini fans still debating controversial call

CHAMPAIGN -- Who touched the ball first? It's a controversial call people are still debating from Sunday night's Illini game.

After D.J. Richardson's miss, the ball was knocked out of bounds. The referees say it went off an Illini player's hand.

Players and Coach John Groce couldn't believe the call. After checking the replay, it looks like the ball went off a Miami player's hand.

The problem is, the refs aren't allowed the review that call. The Illini were down two at that point. It forced them to start fouling, which led to several successful free throws by Miami and eventually a loss.

More Stories

  • WCIA 3's From The Vault
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Golf Tour Exravaganza 2017
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

Video Center