Eye On Weather

Sponsored by

Illini fans still debating controversial call

CHAMPAIGN -- Who touched the ball first?
CHAMPAIGN -- Who touched the ball first? It's a controversial call people are still debating from Sunday night's Illini game.

After D.J. Richardson's miss, the ball was knocked out of bounds. The referees say it went off an Illini player's hand.

Players and Coach John Groce couldn't believe the call. After checking the replay, it looks like the ball went off a Miami player's hand.

The problem is, the refs aren't allowed the review that call. The Illini were down two at that point. It forced them to start fouling, which led to several successful free throws by Miami and eventually a loss.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Do You Have a News Tip?

If you have any story ideas or a news tip,  let our news desk know.